25 C
Jaipur
Friday, October 23, 2020

Google will automatically delete Drive files in Trash folder after 30 days

Must read

huawei: Huawei ekes out third-quarter revenue growth as US restrictions bite – Latest News

Huawei Technologies Co Ltd eked out a gain in third-quarter revenue as the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic added to supply-chain difficulties brought about...

MEE Audio launches new range of Bluetooth audio accessories

MEE Audio has released a new range of audio products at different price points. There’s a new ‘MEE Audio Connect

Accenture along with SAP aims to take businesses into cloud-based open industry solutions

Accenture has announced it will be working side-by-side with SAP to help companies change their business operations with industry-specific solutions based on SAP’s...

huawei: Italy vetoes 5G deal between Fastweb and China’s Huawei: Sources – Latest News

Italy has prevented telecoms group Fastweb from signing a supply deal with Huawei for its 5G core network, two sources close to the matter...

If you are not in the habit of keeping track of the trash folder in your Drive account then make sure you do. Google has announced that it will automatically delete all files put in the Bin after 30 days. Earlier, trash files were saved forever unless you went to the Bin folder and deleted them permanently. This allowed users to easily recover files. This will come to effect starting October 13.
“As this policy takes effect, we will show a banner to users with details of the change. The policy change will take effect regardless of whether a user sees or acknowledges the banner. We will be showing in-app notifications in Drive starting today and in our Editors products (e.g., Google Docs and Google Forms) starting September 29,” said Google in an official blog post.
For G Suite users, admins can still restore items deleted from a user’s trash for up to 25 days for active users. “Retention policies set by admins in Google Vault are not affected by this change, unless they become obsolete as they are now redundant. Learn more about retention rules for Drive,” clarified Google.
These changes affect items that are trashed from any device and any platform as long as they are on the same Google account. Files deleted via Drive File Stream will be deleted forever from the system trash after 30 days. “There is no impact to Backup and Sync behavior. Files in shared drives trash are already automatically deleted after 30 days. Items in trash will still continue to consume quota,” it added.

Source link

- Advertisement -

More articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article

huawei: Huawei ekes out third-quarter revenue growth as US restrictions bite – Latest News

Huawei Technologies Co Ltd eked out a gain in third-quarter revenue as the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic added to supply-chain difficulties brought about...

MEE Audio launches new range of Bluetooth audio accessories

MEE Audio has released a new range of audio products at different price points. There’s a new ‘MEE Audio Connect

Accenture along with SAP aims to take businesses into cloud-based open industry solutions

Accenture has announced it will be working side-by-side with SAP to help companies change their business operations with industry-specific solutions based on SAP’s...

huawei: Italy vetoes 5G deal between Fastweb and China’s Huawei: Sources – Latest News

Italy has prevented telecoms group Fastweb from signing a supply deal with Huawei for its 5G core network, two sources close to the matter...

huawei: Huawei reports 9.9% revenue growth in first 3 quarters of 2020 – Latest News

Huawei on Friday said that it generated a revenue of 671.3 billion yuan ($98.57 billion) in the first three quarters of this year, an...